Back to forum
rss 268 weeks ago
hey mac users - I've been working on the same G4 dual drive power pc for about 5 years now. It still runs decently - smaller stuff - totally not a problem. But the more detailed vectors or the larger res raster files are seriously killing me. I've maxed this one out on RAM (at a whopping 2GB) and have decided that it may be time to get a new machine.

So - I aim this at mac users that work on medium/larger sized illustrations. What are you using? What do you recommend? I'd love to buy a fully loaded mac pro, but that's probably not going to happen. A refurb would be more likely. Or a new imac/mac mini. Recommendations?

just thought I'd ask. thanks!
12Comments
    268 weeks ago
    seriously nothing??
    268 weeks ago
    I use a MacBook, bought 2 yrs ago, just the very basic model (don't know how to look up the RAM). I am using Adobe CS3 Photoshop and it seems to do fine, unless the files are very large. It does lag quite a bit with larger files (>70mB). The largest file I was working on was about 30x30in, 3 layers, 300dpi, and it was about 170MB, and would crash all the time.
    When I bought this laptop, I didn't use photoshop or work with t-shirt designs, so I thought that the basic model was enough. Now I wish I had bought a better version...
    267 weeks ago
    I'm not smart at computer specs, so when I need a new one I usually just go to the refurb section of the Apple store and buy the most recent and most ram-having of the laptops listed. My current one is at 2gigs, but hasn't felt like its holding me back yet :)
    267 weeks ago
    I hate Macs.

Stupid no cut/paste.

Oh Im sorry, when you hit maximize, we are just joking. Do it manually fool!

For the price of a mid range Mac, you can get a killer PC, but Im not here to convert you from the dark side, regardless of if it's aesthetically more appealing in design style, and trendy.

267 weeks ago