Back to forum
rss 258 weeks ago
Im directing this towards jimmyo but i know alot of you start your stuff off on paper. what size paper do you draw on before you scan it? aditionaly what kinda of pencils/ink do yall use?
21Comments
    258 weeks ago
    11x14 sketchpad with perforated edge, but i also have a 11x14 large format scanner it fits perfect in.

pencils. 2h mostly for beginning lines and medium shading. then 2b or higher later on. much later on.

http://www.nextag.com/Mustek-Scanexpress-A3-Usb-561302804/prices-html
    258 weeks ago
    yup, if it ends up on the computer draw to the size of your scanner then you can always scan at 600 and pull it back to 300dpi to double your size of the document.
    I always use a mechanical hb pencil at awesome.
    258 weeks ago
    Hah! I think I'm a noob compared to all of you guys... I tend to draw like 2"x2" sketches just to get shapes all correct and then I scan and enlarge the tarnation out of it (aka it gets way blurry). I guess I just prefer inking on the computer because I just can't use pencils lightly. (And Ctrl-Z is my homeboy.)
    258 weeks ago
    I usually sketch in non-photo blue pencil (so it doesn't scan) and ink with a micron. Letter size paper. I'm no good with tablets- just can't quite manage the disconnect of it- so I try to do as much on paper as possible :)
    258 weeks ago
    I draw on 8.5x11 or 11x14 with graphite pencil. Graphite softness depends on whether I want to keep the pencil marks in the drawing. Hb if I'll erase them, and darker ones if I won't.
    258 weeks ago
    I got some micron pens the other day, they're uber sweet. If you can't find a store that sells them they're worth ordering online.
    258 weeks ago