Back to forum
rss 40 weeks ago
Hi There! I'm new to TeeFury(not to buying, but submitting). This piece is a parody of Breaking Bad and my favorite Ape. I was hoping to get this out before the Breaking Bad premiere. While designining this I realized I missed out on a Donkey Kong theme from an earlier TWOFURY. Bummer. Not bummer enough to keep me from posting and reading your critiques. Be constructively BRUTAL!

Breaking Barrels Design on Dark BrownBreaking Barrels Design on Black
7Comments
    40 weeks ago
    I love it! Old school Donkey Kong mixed with my favorite show.
    40 weeks ago
    CenturionElite said: I love it! Old school Donkey Kong mixed with my favorite show.
    Hopefully the reaction I get from many more. Thanks!
    39 weeks ago
    The cartoon DK and the halftone shading on the jumpsuit are jarring. Go with either solid blocks of color or go with halftoning the gorilla throughout, not a combination.

Also add some variety to the banana piles so the image doesn't look like the you just copy and pasted the same image the same size over and over.

Lastly keep the text consistent. You have too different fonts within the same word. The letter R is the most noticeable.

It's a good start to the design, just needs some polish.
    39 weeks ago
    I tend to agree with cruddy on this one... the cartoon style would probably work best. Would LOVE to see this with more line width variation to give it a more dynamic feel. Currently it appears flat with a uniform stroke length.

Perhaps you can take Kong's head, put the Heisenberg hat on him... blow up his face to be the monumental element of the shirt with the typography underneath it... Then you can stylize it to look like the orangeish cover of the dvds... that would tie it to the MashedPotato theme a bit more.

Just an idea.
    39 weeks ago