Back to forum
rss 58 weeks ago
Image below links to my deviantart page with a larger version so you can see the halftoning detail (as I'm not very experienced with that).

Feedback?

6Comments
    58 weeks ago
    Updated. Stating the obvious here, but the sky would be the shirt color.

neverendingnyan_2_by_artfoundry-d68pp5l.png
    58 weeks ago
    I think Falkor needs more detail. Whether that's adding a Pop-tart (or several?) to his body or just trying to capture a better representation, I'm not sure.

Right now, for me at least, it is evoking the awkward graphics of Atari 2600 console games. On the other hand Nyan cat has quite a lot of detail despite the pseudo 8-bitness of its style; I would try to imitate this.

Maybe try drawing Falkor in more detail at a higher res first, then resize him down in your paint package.

Hope this helps :)
    58 weeks ago
    Just for reference: the detail in Nyan Cat.

nyan.jpg

I did a design called Nyan Spam almost two years ago to the day. Four colors, two to do the rainbow.

NYAN_CAT_darker.jpg

higher_res_nyan_spam.png

Didn't sell a single one. This was my pouty face.*

pouty+face.jpg

*not my face.

I like the idea, but it didn't sell in late spring of 2011 and the original video was uploaded to YouTube on April of 2011. Considering the 8-bit look of the original, I think it's coherent but I don't think it's popular enough to be picked. But, saying that, I suggest: host it on a t-shirt site, see how many Likes or views you get for it. See if it sells.

There's no harm in submitting it because it shows drive. Submit it, you've got to try to be chosen, and design more things.
    58 weeks ago
    I would say: the Falkor needs thicker lines. The Nyan Cat is made of set sized pixels, and those pixels are as blocky as a color ribbon on the rainbow is thick. That's the only nit I can pick, really.
    58 weeks ago