Back to forum
rss 263 weeks ago
Hey guys, first thread here on your spiffy forums :0 Since you guys seem to know shirts, I thought you guys would have just the help I've been looking for ;D

So I've been designing this shirt for a couple days now, not sure what looks best, or what to be done... I can't seem to get happy with it at all.

We have here a "normal(?)" version:

and a version I made with a hand

a quick color change (lazily) just to see how it looked... ehh..

and then another boring version with the "normal" image, and a RAWR...

So... how do I make this not smurf? How do I balance it out and have it work out alright?

Sorry for the smurfy anothersite template boring shirt, if I get something that pleases me I can photoshop it onto a real shirt or something... one step at a time.

I'm a total t-shirt noob, I haven't made one since 2006 and it was.. horribly amateur. I've at least tried to step it up a little with this design, maybe it's too bad to bother with? ;P

All feedback is appreciated, be as brutally honest as you have to be, my feelings won't be hurt (too much)
23Comments
    263 weeks ago
    I like them all but the last one. take that for what you will
    263 weeks ago
    it's a great start - my suggestions would be:

- use the first version - the hand doesn't quite fit and seems like an afterthought - RAWR is a little played out and doesn't really fit

- make the light blue business at the bottom the same dark purple as the outline (I just feel like the light blue isn't quite connecting. I think it would also balance out the horn that extends to the right.)

- I'd 1)take out the 3D effect lines on the ghosts. Then I'd change them to the light blue, reverse them out (so it's solid fill blue instead of the linework) and spread them out so that they trail up to the shoulder. That way, you'd give the feeling that the design was built to fit the shirt.

that's just my overly critical opinion, though. As is, it's a very marketable shirt!