Hello, I'm KáD-I've been a lurker on here for a while since a friend told me about this site a month ago. I'm a freelance artist at the moment and have been for the past year. I've also designed shirts to sell at conventions and such a couple years ago; I actually found myself missing designing tees and wanted to start up again!

Here's the design based on Final Fantasy VII I came up with a few days ago and would love to hear critiques! (Do be brutally honest please!) :D

Uncolored design:

16Comments
    131 weeks ago
    Added colors! Also, I'm thinking of changing the table to a game of Go according to the suggestion of two of my friends.

a1kf0j.jpg
    131 weeks ago
    Ok, fixed the colors-they look much better now, methinks!

131 weeks ago

zjdjxi.jpg
    131 weeks ago
    I assume the three ladies represent Aerith, Tifa, and Yuffie? I'm not really sure they are all that recognizable as FF characters. Mogs, Chocobo's, and Cactuars are fairly generic to FF, and the only immediately recognizable feature to distinguish the characters by is the the bow on the long ponytail on the character on the right (which unless I'm way off makes her Aerith).

I think you should revisit the characters a little bit, as you have a great design, but its just kinda generic.
    131 weeks ago
    Thank you so much for your critique! I was afraid that I deviated too far from the original character designs- I've fixed them so they look closer to the actual designs.

I also added the katakana for "7th Heaven."

UPDATE:
    2pts19h.jpg
    131 weeks ago
    Just wondering: why katakana and why that font?
    Katakana is used for foreign names and for words that have no Japanese equivalent before western influence (like hamburger and department store. It would make more sense to use kanji.
    The font I believe is too sterilized and modern to use, considering the traditional Japanese style that you're drawing in. I think it would work better if you used a flowing calligraphy font.