Back to forum
rss 136 weeks ago
This is my first attempt at a design and was looking for some feedback. I hope someone gets the reference.

Also, is there a certain color palette that any of you guys prefer when designing for tees?

Thanks,

Shane

Photobucket
12Comments
    136 weeks ago
    I like the reference, but I just don't think its got enough going for it.
    136 weeks ago
    Too plain? Not enough detail? Wrong color scheme? Or just a horrible design? lol

What are some things you might do differently?
    136 weeks ago
    I don't know the reference, so I am only able to critique the artwork. I'll start by saying that, for a first attempt, there is certainly promise here. Although this might be a sizable list of recommendations, I only list them for you because I think you can really do something with this design :)

- To address your question on colors, you really have to use what the design is calling for. often the reference will dictate some of that, but not knowing the reference I would have to say that the colors are off for what this is portraying. It looks like an old time logo; something that would appear on a bottle in 1903. As such, I think muted colors, earth tones.

- The wood cut lines should extend through the empty spaces, truncating around the text to leave an implied margin around it (hard to explain, hope that makes sense). Also, the top left line extends past the circular boarder, just clean that line up real quick.

- The font works very well for the "EST. 1903" but the fill color combined with the thick stroke weight kills it in the main text. I would suggest a different font there.

- The main image works, but I think additional wood cut lines would help sell it if used sparingly and appropriately.