Back to forum
rss 138 weeks ago
Hey there,

First time poster, long time reader. I finished my illustration degree a few months ago and have decided its time to try and use my artistic skills.

This is my first tee design... I have already submitted it for review but I thought I would post it here, just wanted to see what people thought, get some feedback before I start a new shirt.

If I failed with the html, you can also go to http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Iqaiuva1pxY/TlLAz6dNIXI/AAAAAAAABDQ/qZsF7MaHGg4/s1600/Doctor+Who+in+China+Final+Draft.jpg for the big version.

Looking forward to hearing from the community,

Dave
7Comments
    138 weeks ago
    even though Doctor Who does nothing for me, it still is an impressive design. I don't really get the ties to all the asian references but I'm sure someone else does
    138 weeks ago
    The TARDIS seems out of place. Maybe because of its size..

Anyways, I think its a good design.
    138 weeks ago
    Reminds me of the Willow pattern crockery my Nan was mad for.... XD

I second sheepbiter's thoughts on the TARDIS - the perspective is a bit off and makes Eleven look like a midget.
    138 weeks ago
    I'd agree with the others sentiments that the scale seems off. And I don't get the reference. Is there one? Or did the Doctor get lost, wound up on a Willow pattern plate and stopped to ask a friendly dragon for directions? (which in itself is kinda funny)

My reservation is that I have my doubts as to whether a design with this level of detail would translate that well onto a T-shirt. Halftoning can only do so much and the end result is a lot less sharp than a computer display.

For some idea of how much detail you can get away with on a printed shirt, browse Teefury's gallery of past shirt designs.

I must say you do have a high degree of artistic skill. Heck, you have a degree! If this design doesn't pan out, I'm sure you'll come up with a winner eventually. Good luck :)

138 weeks ago