Back to forum
rss 154 weeks ago

The Battle of Paradoxes by ~Onimar on deviantART

Click it to view larger.

This was rejected along with another Portal 2 inspired design. (I'm not yet ready to upload the other design to DeviantArt so I have no other way to post it here.) Please critique :D I'm new to this pop culture shirt design thing so please say anything if this might have copyright infringement issues that may have contributed to it being rejected. Thank you.
9Comments
    154 weeks ago
    i'm not a portal guy, but as a tee guy i can say that it's likely due to the composition. it doesn't seem to me like it would work as a shirt. just using these elements, you could probably restucture it like this:

"Aperture Labs" very large across the top

"presents" similar in size to what it is now

Glados and Wheatley higher in the design, spaced a bit so that they come in slight contact with the Aperture logo, slightly framing it.

Mirror this effect with "Disher" and "Taker" below them.

This would place most of the design on the chest area of the shirt and make a better shirt.

There's my 2 cents, hope it helps!
    154 weeks ago
    oh, and maybe use the "vs" as a background element between the robots to fill the void.
    154 weeks ago
    Thanks! that really helps. i really felt that the design felt boxy and corner heavy i'll try moving it the way you said, closer and such. someone also told me to streamline the design by adding the de-stressed text by making the rest of the text and possibly the art that way, but i'll try yours first haha
    154 weeks ago
    awesome, can't wait to see what you come up with!
    154 weeks ago
    We recently had the "battle of the silence" or "Don't blink" design, wish is is a smiliar concept to this. that may be the reason for this not getting picked.
    154 weeks ago
    ooooh Walrus is right! i would still try to take your design the next step, if for nothing other than the practice
    154 weeks ago