Back to forum
rss 207 weeks ago
So I have two tattoos:

Photobucket

(It's really hard to take good pictures of your own feet.)

Photobucket

Photobucket

I also have this problem. I'm really twitchy while getting tattooed, whether they hurt or not. The first tattoo didn't hurt, but my abs kept tightening and loosening. Not a real big deal, the artist said he felt like he was tattooing on a ship. The second one was a major problem though. I had my hands pressed into my tendons (for over an hour!) so that I wouldn't jerk, and it still didn't help. I was still kicking all over the place. And yeh, the foot hurt a lot more than the hip, but still. So I'm wondering if I can take something for future tattoos to avoid the twitches, so that my art doesn't end up looking like smurf. Painkillers, muscle relaxers? I know that certain painkillers will thin the blood too much, and are not recommended. I usually prefer Advil. I have no experience with muscle relaxers. Halp!
34Comments
    207 weeks ago
    Vicodin? Whiskey?-(not too much, don't want to thin the blood)
    Maybe try some breathing exercises?

My tattoo is on my back and it took 4 2 hour sessions. I basically either tried to maintain steady, deep breaths and focus on exhaling the discomfort and giddiness (sounds cheesy but when you focus on all the negative aspects of the situation just being exhaled right out of your body, it helps - in with the good, out with the bad), or (when he was on my extensors, near my spine) gritted my teeth, told him I couldn't talk for that portion of the tattoo, and just toughed it out.
    207 weeks ago
    http://www.drnumb.com/
    207 weeks ago
    Hmmm, that Dr. Numb stuff looks like an interesting product, if it works. I can't help feeling that all of their forum posts are by their employees though. Have you used it?
    207 weeks ago
    Nope but i know a few people who have. They all say it's helps a lot. Doesn't make it pain free exactly, but it's very helpful.